The North Wind – Darcey ARC Review

hi loves! this was just so much fun – one of those easy breezy romantasy standalones rich with loveable characters who can’t help falling for each other, and not too much angst. plus some stunning mythology! so enjoyable!!
~ darcey 💞

The North Wind – Alexandria Warwick

Add on Goodreads, Buy Here

Inspired by Beauty and the Beast and the myth of Hades and Persephone, this lush and enchanting enemies-to-lovers fantasy romance is perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas, Jennifer L. Armentrout, and Scarlett St. Clair.

Wren of Edgewood is no stranger to suffering. With her parents gone, it’s Wren’s responsibility to ensure she and her sister survive the harsh and endless winter, but if the legends are to be believed, their home may not be safe for much longer.

For three hundred years, the land surrounding Edgewood has been encased in ice as the Shade, a magical barrier that protects the townsfolk from the Deadlands beyond, weakens. Only one thing can stop the Shade’s fall: the blood of a mortal woman bound in wedlock to the North Wind, a dangerous immortal whose heart is said to be as frigid as the land he rules. And the time has come to choose his bride.

When the North Wind sets his eyes on Wren’s sister, Wren will do anything to save her—even if it means sacrificing herself in the process. But mortal or not, Wren won’t go down without a fight…

The North Wind is a stand-alone, enemies-to-lovers slow-burn fantasy romance, the first in a series sprinkled with Greek mythology.

ARC copy provided in exchange for an honest review. This in no way changes my rating or review.

4 stars

This was the exact type of entertainment that I needed. Light, readable, not too angsty, swoonworthy – this was so much fun. I also ADORED the mythology, the scatterings of Greek mythology woven into this fascinating fantasy world was so gorgeous to read.

“The low, lamenting peal of a ram’s horn climbs through the valley and kicks my pulse into a perilous spring. The sky foretold a coming tragedy, and it was right.
The North Wind has come.”

Our protagonists were so loveable – Wren was bold, brash, and so fun. I loved her commitment to, firstly, saving her sister, then to drawing our frosty little North Wind out of his shell. I felt that every decision Wren made was so understandable – she made mistakes, but I simply can’t imagine any other realistic choice that she could’ve made. She was such an enjoyable protagonist to read about.

“If I am going to die, it will be on my terms. On my feet, not on my knees.”

Boreas was a cutie – he started off as a rude, vaguely terrifying, not-at-all-loveable mmc, but the more we got to see his character and the more he opened up for Wren, the more I grew to love him. He ended up being a major simp, which I loved. And I was so happy by the length of this book – the perfect standalone really, it encompassed all the character and relationship developed that I needed, without dragging on too long or including unnecessary angst.

“My captor, my husband, my enemy, my lover, my friend.
A dream I did not dare to dream.
Mine.”

Overall, so enjoyable. Easy breezy romantasy, a quick and entertaining read, beautiful relationship with a simp of a mmc. Loved the ending, plus the little epilogue (he made her a cake !!!). Romantasy standalones are just so fun! Thank you so much to the author, publisher, NetGalley for the ARC copy :).

“Man and woman, god and mortal, we stare at one another, bound by duty, obligation, and deceit.”

Published by Darce&Ash

Hi! Darcey and Ashley here, thanks a lot for checking out our profile! Feel free to follow our blog if you want to receive emails for our latest book reviews, buddy reads and monthly summaries. Thanks a lot! :))

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started