Calling of Light (Shamanborn #3) – Darcey ARC Review

hi lovelies! we finally got a conclusion to this brilliant series – such a great ride! i adore these characters so much. amazing fantasy trilogy (with amazing covers!).
~ darcey ❤️‍🔥

Calling of Light – Lori M. Lee

Add on Goodreads, Buy on Amazon, Barnes & Noble

In this epic conclusion to the Shamanborn trilogy, Sirscha must destroy the Dead Wood and defeat the Soulless before his magic consumes them all.

Sirscha has returned to Evewyn, only to discover that everyone believes she killed the queen and that she’s the new king’s Shadow. These rumors have made people fear her, but it’s not the rumors that concern her―it’s finding out what the Soulless is going to do next so she can finally destroy him.

Everyone might believe she’s a monster, but Sirscha knows who the real evil is, and she refuses to let him destroy their world.

Full of the danger, intrigue, fierce friendship, and incredible world building of the first two books in the Shamanborn trilogy, this final installment will delight readers of this popular series.

ARC copy provided in exchange for an honest review. This in no way changes my rating or review.

3.5 stars

Amazing conclusion to this incredible trilogy! Calling of Light had the same brilliant worldbuilding and to-die-for friendships that made me love the first couple books in the series, and I grew to feel an even stronger connection to Sirscha than before. (This book was really a four star read, I just took half a star away to be petty because it contained my #1 least favourite microtrope/plot-point.)

This series bases itself around fantasy and friendship. There is no subplot romance to drag away from the central adventure storyline, which is pretty uncommon for my usual fantasy read, but I loved it. While I feel a certain attachment to my love, Theyen, the reader cannot help but be primarily invested in Sirscha and her story, and I thought her character in this book was even stronger and more loveable. Her growth was truly phenomenal, I loved the way she grew to admire her power.

“…in its purest form, my craft is beautiful. It is pure magic, all the light and life that creates a soul. An entire world cupped within my hands or destroyed with a thought.”

Unfortunately, I didn’t feel the connection to Saengo that I was hoping for, as much like my experience with book #1 in the series, I felt honestly apathetic towards her. But her friendship with Sirscha is nonetheless so precious and strong, and I’m so glad they didn’t lose that with this book.

I also thought the character building for our villain was brilliant. We learnt more about his past experiences and his reasoning, which really helped flesh him out, and I felt the conclusion was satisfying and well done.

“I am their monster, and they are right to fear me.”

Overall, this was a wonderful and satisfying conclusion to this unique series!! I am a little irritated by one aspect of the ending – but no spoilers! Sirscha is my baby and deserves the biggest hug. Thank you so much to the author, publisher and TBR & Beyond Tours (Schedule Here) for the ARC copy provided!

~~~

Lori is an avid writer, reader, artist, and lover of unicorns. She should probably spend less time on the internet (but she won’t). She considers herself a unicorn aficianado, is fond of talking in capslock, and loves to write about magic, manipulation, and family.

Author Links:

Published by Darce&Ash

Hi! Darcey and Ashley here, thanks a lot for checking out our profile! Feel free to follow our blog if you want to receive emails for our latest book reviews, buddy reads and monthly summaries. Thanks a lot! :))

One thought on “Calling of Light (Shamanborn #3) – Darcey ARC Review

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started